The Doctor is in

I didn’t write a review about the season return of Doctor Who because, quite frankly, I had nothing much to say about it. The return was supposed to be fabulous with the return of River Song as a crazy hot chick, and it had it’s moments, but it’s time to get back to basics. Luckily….THEY DID!

Very few episodes of Doctor Who freak me out, with the exception of the freaky blinky angels, but Saturday’s combination of getting back to the old days of The Doctor popping in for a house call and freakishly large wooden dollies made for some good Saturday night TV.
It’s nice to take a break from the long running story line of Amy/Rory/River Song, and get back to an episode that ends with the world saved, the monsters gone and the hope for another adventure to come. I’m sure it won’t be long before we get back to the serialized version of the show, but I quite enjoy when my stories wrap up in 60 minutes time and I can look forward to next week’s episode.
I will say, I wish we could have learned a bit more about the little boy alien. It seems in the days of my love Tenant I got a little education with my Who, and now I get “here’s an alien, here’s a solution.” Where’s my alien history? Are we steeping it in mystery so we can drag it out for another episode just in case the ideas dry up before season end? Let’s hope not.
I’m looking forward to seeing more episodes like this one. More action, less cliffhanger.
Until next time….

Leave a Reply

