New Adventures in Dorkdom

There is no debate that I am one of the dorkiest people I know. I’m the dorkiest person my friends know. Hell, I’m a walking, talking stereotype. I play the WoWs, I love my Who, I have little social life outside my computer. See illustration:

Back to my point…hubs decided it was time for me to stop working on my laptop glow tan, and start getting out of the house. Make friends that I have to see face to face?? Not in game and not on Facebook? I can totes do that… maybe…ya, I think…mayb…I’m not sure about that. With that in mind, my anniversary present was a deck of WoW TCG cards. Next day we ran down to the local game store to find out about playing with the local group, and we bought a more current deck than the one he bought me.
Game night #1 I go in and ask if I can watch, and yay, one player takes a few minutes to explain the basics of the game. Thank you, Daniel! I asked if I could creep on the players and got the gist of what was going on during the remaining couple of hours. Everyone was really nice, and someone pointed out that I speak WoW speak, but online gaming WoW speak, so I sounded like a total dork.

Tonight I went for the 2nd time, and was lucky enough to meet another GIRL player, she happens to co-own the store with her hubby, and I got to meet the local rep for Cryptozoic (the peeps who make the game). He was nice, made sure I had all my questions answered, and called me his “studio audience”, therefore making it so he could stay in one place and allow me to watch. These people are hella accommodating. I thought it was truly funny when one player with a Leeroy Jenkins card, which requires you to yell out in Leeroy fashion, got slightly razzed for not yelling out in his best Leeroy voice, because I was there.

Best moment of the night….love love love this.
Crypto: “Damn, that fly has been in here for like 3 weeks. I don’t know what it is living on.”
Opponent: “Pizza crust….and shattered dreams.”

Gotta love my fellow dorks. Anyone play WoW TCG? Anyone want to give me a few pointers? Looking forward to the day I get to stop watching and start playing. This Thursday I am hoping to build my deck.
More to come…..
You have a good day now!

Leave a Reply

