Lots of Who Changes on the Horizon

I’m not dealing well with the idea of losing my Rory, yeah Amy either, but Rory the Roman, oh my breaking heart. I know the proper progression of sidekicks and understand they have had a good run. Really, it took me a while to love Matt Smith, and the Amy/Rory story did help me form my bond, so they did their job for this Who viewing audience. It’s going to be interesting and sad to see them go, especially since their departure is rumored to be emotionally driven, according to Steven Moffat, who said, “I’m not telling you when or how, but that story is going to come to a heartbreaking end.”

Ok, Ok, I can deal. Fresh faces and new companion meet-cutes are always fun, and honestly, I wasn’t thrilled with the new intro to Doctor Who that put more emphasis on Amy than the Doctor. So putting focus back where it belongs will be a good thing. What I am worried about is the rumored Doctor Who movie that has been making news. I appreciate David Yates, and the work he did on Harry Potter. I am a huge Harry Potter fan, and believe that the best portrayal of such an epic series was put in good hands. What I’m worried about is what others are worried about. What will happen when the big screen adaptations have to be made and the show is essentially Americanized. Will it be the same? Can Yates do the small screen to big screen transition seamlessly? Can we have someone like Neil Gaiman, who has proved his mettle at writing one of the best episodes in all of Who history, write this and then we can trust that the Doctor Who movie is in good hands? To be fair, Yates does have some mini-series experience under his belt, so he isn’t a stranger to small screen direction. Though Steven Moffat had to correct some of Yates’ premature chatter on changes that will be made to the film’s star. I’m just crossing my fingers we don’t end up with some Uwe Boll mishap here. Look what happened when Torchwood went from BBC to Starz. Holy hell! “Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together… mass hysteria! All right, all right! I get the point!”

Looking forward to the new exciting series 7 of Doctor Who, coming Fall 2012.

Leave a Reply

