Catching Up on Comics

I’ve had a stack of comics sitting on my ottoman empire for about 2 months waiting for attention. Some I have been dying to read and just haven’t had time, some I have been reluctant to read, but know I need to.

The 1st victim of my reluctance is DC Comics New 52 release of Aquaman. I have always been of the opinion that Aquaman is not a superhero. Hell, Aquaman is barely a man. However, I now stand corrected! Aquaman walks into a seafood restaurant and orders fish and chips. Ya, it sounds like a punchline from a bad joke, but it’s not. It’s the brilliance of Geoff Johns, writer of the new Aquaman series. Aquaman has had a makeover, and not only is he able to kick ass (he picked up a truck and flipped it with that shiny golden trident), but he is pissed and sick of the ridicule. What the creative team of this little gem has done is allowed us to laugh at Aquaman for the joke he has been and appreciate him for the strong man he wants to be. In Issue #1 he gets grilled, while trying to eat his lunch, by a blogger who accuses him of being an attention whore and a laughingstock. Poor Aquaman. I kinda feel bad for all the horrible things I said about him in the past. The artwork is beautiful, and the new monsters look fun. The new hunky Aquaman has a hot red head and a new chance to prove himself a real super hero. If you, like me, have always scoffed at Aquaman, I urge you to grab this one. It’s definitely worth the read, and the chuckle that Issue #1 will give you.

DC Comics Aquaman
Writer: Geoff Johns
Penciler: Ivan Reis
Inker: Joe Prado
Colorist: Rod Reis
Letterer: Nick J. Napolitano

Next up, again a part of DC’s New 52 is Wonder Woman. I’m gonna be honest and say I didn’t love it. I didn’t not like it, and I am definitely intrigued enough to read more, but it’s not my favorite of the releases of Wonder Woman. After the 2006 release of the dynamic Dodson duo’s beautiful depiction of Wonder Woman it is hard to reach the expectation I have of Wonder Woman. Though the colorist, Matthew Wilson, did a beautiful job making dynamic action sequences come to life. I love that we get to see a bit of Diana’s soft side; catching her off guard and in bed is definitely a plus for this gorgeous Amazon’s readers. This whole “international man of mystery” type villain is going to be interesting to get to know, but I am not in the mood to babysit a whiny, emo protagonist (Zola), who thinks that Wonder Woman would waste her time on her if she wasn’t worth saving. We’ll see how this one unfolds and hope that as the story meshes, so will my loving this storyline.

DC Comics Wonder Woman
Writer: Brian Azzarello
Artist & Cover: Cliff Chiang
Colorist: Matthew Wilson
Letterer: Jared K. Fletcher

Other than reading a few issues of Walking Dead and knowing his tie as a power at Image Comics, I am not as familiar with the work of Robert Kirkman; though, apparently, I should be. I picked up Image’s The Infinite issues #1 and #3 (my store was out of #2), and was immediately impressed by the story. Jumping right into attachment to the main characters, Bowen and Case, and being introduced to our villain, Imperius, while reading some awesome action shots, was a perfect attention grabber for me to love this new series. Luckily for me, The Infinite is such a great storyline I wasn’t even lost by missing issue 2, though I will be grabbing that as soon as I get to the local comic store. At first, I felt for the idea that Imperius was trying to instill, saving us from our future. Probably because I’m a Doctor Who lover, and understand the burden of having to know what the future holds and not being able to save us from ourselves. Though, shooting our main character in the head, kinda put me off feeling for his cause. The introduction of the past/future Bowens, and soon to be my favorite hero to the rescue, Duel, really adds depth to the story. I love me a big, muscley, cyborg hero. Hello, Terminator. There isn’t anything that isn’t amazing about this book. The artwork is outstanding, the storyline grabbed me immediately, and the colors are gorgeous. I need to hurry up and get caught up, because if the inside cover is any clue to the future we are bringing a buxom red head into the mix.

Image Comics The Infinite
Writer: Robert Kirkman
Penciler: Rob Liefeld
Inks: Rob Liefeld, Adelso Corona, Jacob Bear
Colors: Hi-Fi Design
Letterer: Rus Wooton

I’m looking forward to getting through the rest of my backlog and seeing what I’ve been missing.

One Trackback to “Catching Up on Comics”

Leave a Reply

