Blizzard to Add In Game Advertising?

As a slightly obsessed, yet don’t find it difficult to stop for bathroom breaks and interact with the outside world, World of Warcraft player, I have the utmost respect for Blizzard Entertainment. I love that I can escape to another world, kick some much needed butt as a stress reliever and for once in my life have some pretty rad super powers (I can make it rain fire). With this in mind, I was a bit disheartened when I heard that the powerhouse that is Blizz is going to be adding in game ad content to their new project “Titan.” According to Blizzard’s current job board (sad that I read them, I know, but one day…) they are looking for a “Franchise Development Producer-NEXT-GEN MMO.” This job will be filled by someone who is able to

“Be the key liaison between the development team and other functional teams within Blizzard Entertainment (e.g. creative development, licensing, marketing, legal) to create brand-extending merchandise for the next-gen MMO franchise, including:

  • Books / Novels
  • Action figures
  • Comics
  • Short movies
  • Apparel”

Yay, I am so glad they are going to keep with the tradition of their other games, even though this “Titan” is rumored to be a casual MMO possibly leaning toward a more social aspect, and bring us merchandise. I am a collector. Merchandise is my thing. BUT wait…there’s more! This job will also need to “Work with major consumer brands to facilitate product placement and licensing within the world of Blizzard Entertainment’s next-gen MMO that enhances the gameplay experience.” Wait. Wha…Huh? I play games to escape to another world, not to be reminded to “Have a Coke and a Smile” while I’m doing major damage to a giant monster, or in some cases a giant mechanical chicken. How is this going to “enhance the gameplay experience?”

Is Blizzard short on cash? Because I know how much I’ve contributed to their profit margin. Is this game going to be free-to-play? Every day I deal with ads stuffed into my Android gaming apps, and I ignore them, because I am a cheap bitch who doesn’t want to shell out 99 cents to play an ad free game. Is this going to be a Warcraft with Friends type game? Fingers crossed. I know that having little social extras like World of Warcraft Remote on my tablet has made my game play experience all the better, or my obsession a little more worrisome, but I think having a more socially interactive piece to games is awesome. It also gives me something to fiddle with on my downtown, without firing up WoW.

At this time, there is nothing more that can be done but speculate. Some believed that Blizz would have an announcement at BlizzCon, but since they just announced there will be no BlizzCon 2012, they get to keep the “Titan” carrot dangling for as long as they want. I’m always looking forward to the brilliance that is Blizzard, and will look forward to whatever project “Titan” has in store as well.

One Comment to “Blizzard to Add In Game Advertising?”

  1. Only a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design .

Leave a Reply

