QR Codes and Cross Stitching, or Tech Meets Textiles

Guest post written by Debra Touchette

When I first saw the now-ubiquitous qr code, I thought, “Dang, that would be perfect to cross stitch!” Turns out I’m not alone in this. The Guardian recently posted an article about artists who have done just that, stitching the designs into quilts, incorporating pirates and Darth Vadar into their designs, and more. There are several generators on the internet that will help you create a pattern for your own qr code. I stitched one up for my friend Alex as a going away present, using this site to create the code.

I won’t tell you what the design represents. If you feel so inclined, you can try it yourself. Alas, my phone isn’t a smart phone — it’s only a somewhat bright phone, so I don’t know if the design actually works. It’s entirely possible I messed up the design because I transferred it to graph paper by hand. And frankly, I’m inclined to think this is all magic or voo doo anyway, so I’m sorry in advance if, when you scan the code, you are turned into a unicorn or something. [Editors note: the QR code works]

I haven’t always been interested in the intersection of technology and old-fashioned crafts, but a class last fall in digital rhetoric got me thinking about the ways in which we humans constantly marry old and new, the ways in which we look back to go forward, and crafts aren’t immune to the phenomenon. Take, for example, the tag cloud embroidery I mentioned in a previous post:

Photo Source

Few arts are as traditional as embroidery, yet tag clouds are totally Web 2.0.

Leave a Reply

